Erik Seidel Wins 9th Career WSOP Bracelet

By Craig Klinski
March 25, 2022

Erik Seidel 9th WSOP Bracelet

Erik Seidel made poker history on Tuesday when he took down the 11th event of the GG Poker Online portion of the 2021 World Series of Poker to win his 9th career WSOP bracelet.

The victory came during the Super MILLION$, a $10,000 buy-in event that attracted 624 players. After coming into the final table 7th in chips, Seidel rallied back to win his first WSOP bracelet since 2007 and his first-ever WSOP Online bracelet. With his 9th bracelet, Seidel now moves up to 5th on the all-time WSOP bracelet list, tying Johnny Moss.

Despite not winning a bracelet since 2007, Seidel has remained a perennial force in the World Series of Poker, earning seven cashes in 2019 and six in 2018. Last year, he participated heavily in the 2020 WSOP Online, cashing a total of 15 times. In late July of this year, Seidel came in 42nd place during the $400 No Limit Hold’em MonstarStack Online.

Seidel reaction

Seidel was humbled by the victory due to his lack of success in online WSOP events.

When did Erik Seidel win his WSOP bracelets?

In winning his latest bracelet, Seidel has now won a WSOP bracelet in three decades spanning nearly 30 years (he did not win a bracelet from 2010-2019). His first win came during the 1992 WSOP when he took down the $2,500 Limit Hold’em for $168,000 at the age of 32.

Seidel was on a roll through the 1990s and 2000s with four bracelets in each decade, but has experienced a drought since his victory in the 2007 $5,000 World Champion No Limit Deuce to Seven Draw Lowball rebuys for $538,838.

1992$2,500 Limit Hold'em$168,000
1993$2,500 Omaha 8 Or Better$94,000
1994$5,000 Limit Hold'em$210,000
1998$5,000 Deuce to Seven Draw$132,700
2001$3,000 No Limit Hold'em$411,300
2003$1,500 Pot Limit Omaha$146,100
2005$2,000 No Limit Hold'em$611,795
2007$5,000 World Championship No LImit Deuce To Seven Draw Lowball w/rebuys$538,835
2021$10,000 Super MIllion$ High Roller$977,842

Who are the all-time WSOP bracelet winners?

Only six players have won at least nine WSOP bracelets in their poker careers. The list includes many top legends of the game including Doyle Brunson and Phil Hellmuth. Among those ahead of Seidel, only Hellmuth is as active as Seidel in playing WSOP bracelet events and increasing numbers. Out of the players currently in the top 10, only Hellmuth has won a WSOP bracelet in the last five years.

RankPlayerBraceletsYears Won
1Phil Hellmuth151989, 1992, 1993 (3), 1997, 2001, 2003 (2), 2006, 2007, 2012 (2), 2015, 2018
2 (tied)Doyle Brunson101976 (2), 1977 (2), 1978, 1979, 1991, 1998, 2003, 2005
2 (tied)Johnny Chan101985, 1987, 1988, 1994, 1997, 2000, 2002, 2003 (2), 2005
2 (tied)Phil Ivey102000, 2002 (3), 2005, 2009 (2), 2010, 2013, 2014
5 (tied)Johnny Moss91970, 1971 (2), 1974, 1975, 1976, 1979, 1981, 1988
5 (tied)Erik Seidel91992, 1993, 1994, 1998, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2021
7 (tied)Billy Baxter71975, 1978, 1982 (2), 1987, 1993, 2002
7 (tied)Men Nguyen71992, 1995 (2), 1996, 2003 (2), 2010
8 (8 tied)T.J. Cloutier, Chris Ferguson, Layne Flack, Ted Forrest, Jay Heimowitz, John Hennigan, Jeff Lisandro, Daniel Negreanu6

Important Disclosure

#AD – Bonus Code Poker is an affiliate of the brands we promote throughout this site. While we strive to maintain accuracy throughout our content, we do receive compensation for this promotion.

Bet365 bonus codes and no deposit poker bonus for UK players. Learn about Bet365 Free Bets, the new Bet365 Bet Builder, or the Bet365 live streaming schedule where bet365 players can watch tons of sports action for free. Check out the most popular Bet365 Bet Types with in depth explanations on how you can make these bets on the Bet365 online sportsbook. How Bet365 compares versus top online gambling sites including a Ladbrokes vs bet365 comparison.

Bet365 Bonus Code, Sports, Casino and Poker Sign up offers and News - All contents are © 2024  Bonus Code Poker

18+ Worried about your gambling?    Gamcare
When the fun stops – STOP!