global poker awards 2022

The Global Poker Awards are set to return for the first time in nearly two years. And now through a joint partnership, the Global Poker Index and The Hendon Mob, just announced details of the latest ceremony which honors the best of the poker world.

The festivities will kick off on February 18th from the PokerGo Studio, which is located at the ARIA Resort and Casino.

Here’s what else we know right now…

How many awards will be awarded during the 2022 ceremony?

Over 20 awards will are set to be awarded for the 2022 Global Poker Awards.

Who are the nominees for the 2022 Global Poker Awards?

Nominees have not yet been announced for the 2022 Global Poker Awards. Check this space for details once they have been revealed.

What 2022 Global Poker Awards will be up for grabs?

The Global Poker Awards honor a wide variety of people in the poker industry including of course players, but also industry people, vloggers, and other poker personalities. The most prestigious award is arguably the GPI Player of the Year, which is awarded to a single player who leads in the Global Poker Index standings for 2021, which is currently led by Ali Imsirovic.

Other confirmed awards for 2022 include Players Choice for Toughest Opponent, Poker ICON, Best Vlogger and three Fan Choice awards.

In previous years, awards have also been given away in categories such as Podcast of the Year, Poker Broadcaster of the Year, Streamer of the Year, Event of the Year and Industry Person of the Year.

How are Global Poker Award winners determined?

Certain awards, such as the Global Poker Index Player of the Year is determined by GPI Points earned during the year. For the three Fan Choice awards, poker fans will be able to able to vote on their selections. However, for the vast majority of the awards, there is a voting process that will take place.

The specific voting process will be announced soon. Voting will start in early 2022.

Who are the previous GPI Player of the Year award winners?

The GPI Player of the Year honor has been awarded since 2012, when Dan Smith claimed the inaugural award. Since then, six different players have received the honor with Alex Foxen earning the award twice:

  • 2012 – Dan Smith
  • 2013 – Ole Schemion
  • 2014 – Daniel Colman
  • 2015 – Byron Kaverman
  • 2016 – David Peters
  • 2017 – Adrian Mateos
  • 2018 – Alex Foxen
  • 2019 – Alex Foxen

Where are the Global Poker Awards held?

The 2022 Global Poker Awards are set to be held at the PokerGO Studio located at the ARIA Resort and Casino. This will be the venue for at least the next three ceremonies.

Can I watch the Global Poker Awards 2022?

Yes, poker fans will be able to tune into the 2022 Global Poker Awards live through PokerGO, which is home to countless poker shows and live tournament coverage, including the World Series of Poker. In order to watch, you must have a PokerGO subscription, which is available for $14.99 per month or $99 per year.

BEST ONLINE BookmakerS IN the UNIted Kingdom
Bet365 Bonus Code
Bet365 Review
Min deposit £5
Bet £10 and get £50 in free bets
Sign up, deposit between £5 and £10 to your account and bet365 will give you five times that value in Free Bets when you place qualifying bets to the same value and they are settled. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits. Min odds/bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. T&Cs, time limits & exclusions apply.The bonus code BET247 can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.
Ladbrokes Review
Get £30 When You Bet £10

Deposit £10 on Signup
Get £30
New players only
888 Casino
£88 Free
888 Casino Review
£1,500 Welcome Bonus Package

£88 Free just for signing up
NO Deposit Required
New Customers Only