josef gulas jr wins WSOP Europe

Josef Gulas Jr. is poker’s latest world champion after winning the World Series of Poker Europe Main Event early on Thursday morning. His victory comes after outlasting a record 688 entries over five days including Johan Guilbert, who was the winningest player going into the final table.

In taking home the victory, Guláš wins a €1,276,712 prize for the €10,300 buy-in event and of course, a gold bracelet, which is also his first. The prize is the second largest-ever in the WSOPE Main Event, behind Elio Fox’s victory 2011 victory for €1,400,000.

Gulas, who has now earned over $2.2 million in live tournament winnings, secured his entry into the event via a third-place position in the €250 IPS Main Event in June.

Poker fans can watch the final table in its entirety from the World Series of Poker YouTube page or below:

The tournament, as in the previous four years, has been held at the King’s Casino in the Czech Republic, Gulas’ home country. The victory was the 8th for a player from the Czech Republic.

The final table finished up with players from seven different countries, each taking home six-figure scores.

2021 WSOPE Main Event Final Table

Place Winner Country Prize Lifetime Tournament Winnings
1 Josef Guláš Jr. Czech Republic €1,276,712 $2,263,031
2 Johan Guilbert France €789,031 $3.278,160
3 Alexander Tkatschew Germany €558,505 Not listed
4 Athanasios Kidas Greece €401,344 $457,513
5 Stanislav Koleno Slovakia €292,862 $1,188,616
6 Aleksandar Trajkovski Macedonia €217,854 $522,133
7 Thomas Denie Netherlands €163,434 $249,599
8 Ilija Savevski Macedonia €125,052 $278,217

Lifetime live tournament winnings are from the Hendon Mob database.

Josef Guláš’s biggest victory prior to his win was during the 2019 €550 Concord Million IX Hold’em event, when his 4th place finish netted him a €110,300 score.

In post-match comments after the win, Gulas was all smiles. “It’s an incredible feeling. I am truly thankful and happy. It was a perfect tournament with a very nice structure in the best casino in Europe. Just incredible!”

Previous WSOP Europe bracelet winners

WSOP Europe has been held since 2007 with sporadic breaks in 2014, 2016 and 2020. Players from the Unied States have won the tournament four times while players from Spain and The United Kingdom have won the event twice:

  • 2007 – Annette Obrestad (Norway) – £1,000,000
  • 2008 – John Juanda (Indonesia) – £868,800
  • 2009 – Barry Shulman (United States) – £801,603
  • 2010 – James Bord (United Kingdom) – £830,401
  • 2011 – Elio Fox (United States) – £1,400,000
  • 2012 – Phil Hellmuth (United States) – £1,058,403
  • 2013 – Adrian Mateos (Spain) – £1,000,000
  • 2015 – Kevin MacPhee (United States) – €883,000
  • 2017 – Marti Roca de Torres (Spain) – €1,115,207
  • 2018 – Jack Sinclair (United Kingdom – €1,122,239
  • 2019 – Alexandros Kolonias (Greece) – €1,133,678
  • 2021 – Josef Gulas (Czech Republic) – €1,276,712
Bet365 Bonus Code

Bet365 Review
Min deposit €5
Up to €100 in Bet Credits For New Customers at bet365
Min deposit €5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code BET247 can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.
Ladbrokes Review
Get €20 When You Bet €5

Deposit €5 on Signup
Get €20
New players only
William Hill Sportsbook
William Hill
€30 in Free Bets
William Hill Review
Bet €10 get €30 in free bets
Credited as 2 x €15 bets
New Customers Only