2022 US Poker Open winners

The 2022 US Poker Open has not disappointed, with some incredible high stakes poker action among some of the world’s best players.

On Monday night, Sean Winter won his second US Poker Open event in a row after he took down the $50,000 Main Event, clinching the 2022 U.S. Poker Open title in the process. To win the prestigious event, Winter outlasted a field of 42 players, taking home the $756,000 first-place prize.

He becomes only the third player to win a US Poker Open title and with it, the Golden Eagle trophy and a bonus $50,000 prize.

The victory came just a day after he won Event #11, the $25,000 No Limit Hold’em for $440,000.

PokerGo provided a free 1-hour preview of the Main Event final table on YouTube that you can watch below. You can watch the entire stream via PokerGo with a $14.99 subscription or $99 per year.

US Poker Open Winners

Sean Winter wasn’t the only multiple winner of the 2022 US Poker Open. Earlier in the series, Japan’s Tomon Nakamura won the $10,000 Big Bet mix. He then followed that performance up with a second win after taking down the $15,000 8-Game. As a result of winning two early events, Nakamura held the lead in the 2022 US Poker Open Leaderboard through the first 11 events, until Winter went back to back.

Phil Hellmuth did not win a US Poker Open event this year, although he was involved in one of the most memorable moments.


Event Number Date Event Entries Winner Prize
1 March 16th $10,000 No Limit Hold'em 93 Shannon Shorr $213,900
2 March 17th $10,000 Pot Limit Omaha 77 Justin Young $200,200
3 March 18th $10,000 No Limit Hold'em 88 Adam Hendrix $211,200
4 March 19th $10,000 Big Bet max 53 Tamon Nakamura $169,600
5 March 20th $10,000 No Limit Hold'em 66 Jeremy Ausmus $178,200
6 March 21st $15,000 8-Game 47 Tamon Nakamura $239,700
7 March 22nd $15,000 No Limit Hold'em 70 Alex Foxen $283,500
8 March 23rd $15,000 Pot Limit Omaha 67 Chino Rheem $271,350
9 March 24th $25,000 No Limit Hold'em 63 Erik Seidel $472,500
10 March 25th $25,000 No Limit Hold'em 49 Dylan Weisman $416,500
11 March 26th $25,000 No Limit Hold'em 55 David Peters $440,000
12 March 27th $50,000 No Limit Hold'em 42 Sean Winter $756,000

2022 US Poker Open Leaderboard

Each year, the winner of the US Poker Open is determined by the best overall player of the series. The honor is calculated through the leader of the US Poker Open Leaderboard. The player at the top of the leaderboard receives an additional $50,000 in prizes along with the Golden Eagle trophy.

2022 Top 10 US Poker Open Leaderboard

Rank Player Country Points
1 Sean Winter United States 718
2 Tamon Nakamura Japan 588
3 Alex Foxen United States 488
4 Chino Rheem United States 481
5 Phil Hellmuth United States 464
6 Shannon Shorr United States 441
7 Erik Seidel United States 428
8 Dylan Weisman United States 414
9 Masashi Oya Japan 414
10 Adam Hendrix United States 356

Points for the leaderboard are determined on the proprietary PokerGo Tour Points System, which considers points based on the buy-in of each event as well as how much a player cashes for in the event. Points are allocated to not easily favor higher buy-in events.

For example, players cashing in for less than $1 million in a $10k-$24,999 event will earn points equivalent to 0.001% of what they cash, 0.0006% in $25k-$99k events and 0.0003% in events with buy-ins of $100,000 or above.

Previous US Poker Open Champions

The US Poker Open has been held since 2018 — not including 2020, which was canceled due to COVID-19.

Below is a list of previous series champions along with the Main Event winner each year. So far, 2019 and 2022 have been the only years where the Main Event winner also won the US Poker Open trophy.

  • 2018 – Stephen Chidwick; Main Event Winner: Keith Tilston
  • 2019 – David Peters; Main Event Winner: David Peters
  • 2021 – David Peters; Main Event Winner: Sean Winter
  • 2022 – Sean Winter: Main Event Winner: Sean Winter